Bainbridge Island Rowing Annual Meeting of Members Minutes 2/26/2020, 7:00 PM



Location: Bainbridge Island Senior Center

Attendees

Board Members Present: Jennifer Ames-Karreman, Rob Bloom, Celia Clark, Meloni Courtway, Tim Dore, Sue Entress, John Foy, Kurt Frost, Kris Kutchera, Sommer Vincent

Board Members Absent: Rob Hershberg, Owen Livengood

BIR Staff Present: Bruce Beall, Tom Coble, Amy Fullwell, Nicolai Otte, Chelsea Vessenes

Paid Members: 47

Proceedings

- The evening began with a chili cookoff potluck dinner
- President, Sue Entress presented an annual report to the membership
- Treasurer, Kurt Frost provided a statement of the financials and 2020 budget
- Development Chair, Jennifer Ames-Karreman provided an update on fundraising
- President, Sue Entress presented the Volunteer of the Year award to Jo Vander Stoep
- Secretary, Kris Kutchera facilitated the vote on the BIR Bylaws change and 2020 slate of Board of Directors (ballot next page)
 - Both the change to the Bylaws and the slate of 2020 Directors were approved
 - Out of 47 members present, 46 votes were cast in favor of the proposed slate of Directors, 43 votes were cast in favor of the Bylaws change and one opposed the change.
- Director of Rowing, Bruce Beall provided an update on the rowing center
- Nicolai Otte announced winners of the chili cookoff:
 - Best Chicken/Poultry Mike Paxhia
 - Best Beef / Red Meat Amy Burton
 - Best Vegan Karol Danielssen
 - Best Overall Sara Prout (Lamb Curry Chili)

Minutes submitted by Secretary, Kris Kutchera



Bainbridge Island Rowing 2020 Annual Meeting Board of Directors Ballot

Board-recommended change to BIR Bylaws

The Board recommends increasing the maximum size of the Board from fifteen to seventeen Directors. The increase would create additional capacity to perform organizational work and transition key roles.

	Vote for c	hange: [<pre>Vote against change: [</pre>	1
--	------------	----------	-----------------------------------	---

The Board-recommended slate for 2-year terms starting in 2020:

- **Sue Entress** (returning board member, Masters)
- John Foy (returning board member, Masters,)
- Jennifer Ames-Karreman (returning board member, Junior Parent)
- **Tim Dore** (returning board member, Junior Parent,)
- Jill Bamburg (new, Masters)
- Julia Cziesla (new, Masters)
- Anthony Oddo (new, Masters)
- Faith Dizon Watson (new, Junior Parent)
- Kayla Musser (new, Junior Representative 1-year term)

Vote for slate: []	Vote against slate: []	Write-in:
---------------------	-----------------------	---	-----------

Note: Board members serve staggered 2-year terms. Returning Board members not up for re-election in 2020 include: **Rob Bloom** (Junior Parent), **Celia Clark** (Masters), **Meloni Courtway** (Masters), **Kurt Frost** (Masters), **Rob Hershberg** (Masters), **Kris Kutchera** (Masters) and **Sommer Vincent** (Junior Parent). If a Board member retires before the end of their term, available positions will be announced to membership and filled via Board vote as per BIR Bylaws.